With Honor


I go to visit our fallen soldiers; those that have fallen in the many wars of this great nation, those who have died in its service, those who have lived – veterans, and wives of those soldiers buried within. I visit with respect and heart felt love for these men who have paid for the freedoms we all in this nation and other free nations enjoy.

I read the names of these men, my brothers, as I walk along the graves feeling sadness in heart at times so strong I would have to hold back tears. I love these men because they are what is good in America and Americas best sons.

It was on one of my visits to Fort Rosecrans National Cemetery while walking I noticed this young lady walking. Her walk I notice was different, her walk was sad and I could see she was distraught. I watched as she walked to the wall there the newest of our fallen soldiers have been buried and touched a grave and then sat with her face resting in her hands crying.

How bad I wanted to go to her and comfort her, how bad I want her to know how much I too mourned her loss, how bad I wanted to tell her how proud I was of her fallen soldier.

I had no words; I knew not what to say… my heart grew heavy and I left the cemetery holding back my tears.

I took a picture, I don’t know why I don’t even know if it was right to. Each time I look at it I feel a pain in my heart and fight back tears. Over the past month I have debated if I should or should not share this picture with others as it is a private and personal moment, but I feel that for those who don’t know the price which is paid for their freedom —should—

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

War is an ugly thing, but not the ugliest of things. The decayed and degraded state of moral and patriotic feeling which thinks that nothing is worth war is much worse. The person who has nothing for which he is willing to fight, nothing which is more important than his own personal safety, is a miserable creature and has no chance of being free unless made and kept so by the exertions of better men than himself.
John Stuart Mill
English economist & philosopher (1806 – 1873)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

