Cold Weather Running


My wife swears the reptilian comes out in me when it’s cold. I’m slow, sleepy and overall unmotivated when its cold. As I sit writing this heater is on the thermostat set for 72 Degrees Fahrenheit (22.7 degrees Celsius to the rest of the world) I’m in a jacket that I normally avoid wearing because I get too hot in it.

It’s a frigid 50 degrees Fahrenheit (10 degrees Celsius) weather.com says it feels like 43; raining with a slight easterly breeze which means it’s blowing from the ocean about 4 miles from here making it feel all the more cold(er,er?). I know all of you Mountain, Midwest, Eastern and European people are laughing at me right now; and thinking what a baby he should be here! Well I live in SUN Diego for a reason and getting this cold is not one of them.

I want to RUN! But have absolutely no clue what to wear in cold weather for such an activity. Now if I were out in the cold with the military I’d know exactly what to wear, but running? Not a clue.

I was looking on-line and it just made my head hurt trying to figure out cold weather running cloths I should buy. Maybe a trip to Big5 Sporting goods is warranted so I can do the touch and feel thing but that would mean I would have to go out in the C O L D. Maybe I’ll just do some jump roping to get my blood running this is my 4th day without running and I’m feeling anxious.

Any suggestions?

This entry was posted in Jogging, Running, Sports and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

