Do You Stretch?


[Monday Treadmill (Echo Stress Test) 12min Holy Molley!!!!!]
[Wednesday 4.26 Miles 10:08/Mile 43:26 Min]

After getting home from my run last Wednesday I was happy to see new post from a great blogger my26pointtwo that was in response to a question I ask him about one of his blog entries in which he mentioned using a foam roller to work our midweek calf and ankle tightness.  Blogger my26pointtwo got me thinking about stretching, not that his post had anything to do about at all, but that’s how my brain works, when it does of course.

To be honest even when I do, I don’t really notice any difference pre or post run between stretching or not.  If I run in the morning after just getting up from bed I will normally stretch but its more to get me warmed up for the run more than getting my muscles and tendons loosened up.  But, in the afternoon and evenings I tend not to stretch.

When I was much older and ran cross country and relays in high school, I stretched allot and often. Early in my Military career I stretched less and today I hardly stretch.  I’ve always worried that I don’t stretch as I should especially at my young age.  I’ve read in the past about the pro’s and con’s of stretching and am really not sure what to think of it.

It would be interesting to hear your opinions on stretching and if you notice any differences post run from stretching or not.

And for my26pointtwo THANKS again for taking the time to answer my question; It is most appreciated.

This entry was posted in Jogging, Running, Sports and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Do You Stretch?

  1. Kelsie O says:

    When I was training for my first marathon, I did a lot of stretching. Now I do 1/2 marathons fairly frequently (5-6 a year) and I never really stretch unless I’m feeling discomfort. However, I do yoga so I feel like that makes up for it.

    • usabaker says:

      Kelsie, Thanks for the response. I was just talking to my wife about taking yoga lessons last night, and it sound like a great way to make up for not stretching – I didn’t even think about that.

  2. Kevin says:

    I stretch about 3 times per week after a run but it is because I am afraid my hamstring injury might come back. It definitely seems to help.

Leave a Reply

