You are always with me Dad…


Today is the 2nd anniversary of my father’s death. Even though he’s been gone two years Idaho-Oregon trip_44 I can still hear his voice, his smell and can feel he is somehow with me. There are still times when something is going on I reach for my phone to call him and have to face once again he’s not here to call. I still have my father’s phone number in my phones contact list, I’ve been unable to bring myself to delete it, just as I can’t delete the emails he has sent, the one he forwarded to me.

I am the man I am today because of my father. He taught me how to be a man, to understand and know right from wrong, how your word is all you really have in this world, how honesty is the only policy, and to stand proudly without fear and say “I am an American and this is my flag.

He taught me how to become the father and husband I am today, but most of all, he taught me to never be afraid to say “I love you.”

My father was my rock even though I never let him know. During my time in the military headstonewebwhen things got tough and sometimes downright scary, it was my father’s voice in my mind that kept me going. When things got tough and life got heavy, it was my father’s voice that helped me bear the weight.

My father was a special kind of creature that I never fully knew until I had grown to the point where I could see the world though his eyes. And though he’s not physically in this world anymore, he will always reside in my heart and I will still say….. I love you Dad

This entry was posted in family, letters, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to You are always with me Dad…

  1. frenchc1955 says:

    Thank you for sharing a heartfelt and deeply compelling post.

Leave a Reply

