7.24 Mile Presidio Park, Old Town and Heritage Park Run – San Diego


OLDTOWN_Collage[7.24 miles in 1:11:58 minutes / 9:57 avg. mile]

After work today I ran areas around the place I work. On this run I decided to run Presidio Park, Heritage Park and Old Town.

Presidio Park is one of the older sites in San Diego and is where a historic fort was established on May 14, 1769 on the top of a hill. The original fort is no longer there, the Serra Museum stands on the site of its location. Although run up the hill and then up a flight of stairs is a tough run the view at the top is beautiful. From the top of the hill you can run down a path to Palm Canyon Park where you will find a number of structures and monuments; allot of weddings are held at this park because of its beauty and view.

 Presidio Park

Presidio Park

 Presidio Park

Presidio Park

From Palm Canyon Park back down the hill toward Old Town, running up Juan Street you IMG_4143pass the Mormon Battalion Historic Site. I’ve tour the museum and it has allot of interesting history; entrance is free.

Just past the Mormon Battalion Historic Site is Heritage Park where a number of San Diego’s Victorian Houses have been placed and restored. It’s nice to have allot of San Diego’s historic homes in one beautiful setting; along with the homes is the first Jewish synagogue.

I continued my run UP Juan Street about ½ mile to Sunset St., which has a really steep climb with a 10 or 11% grade that will really test the strength of your legs, I can only say that I ran all the way to the top and back because I just wanted to challenge myself.elev

After completing the run up and down Juan Street I turned on to Twiggs St. and ran into the Main Part of Old Town. There is so much history in this one spot I can’t even start to talk about them all. Click this link “Old Town San Diego Guide” if you want to know more. I zigzagged though the town taking pictures for your enjoyment and then got serious and went on running. Here are some pictures from my run, Enjoy!

Heritage Park Victorian Village

Heritage Park Victorian Village

Heritage Park Victorian Village

Heritage Park Victorian Village

Heritage Park Victorian Village

Heritage Park Victorian Village

Heritage Park Victorian Village

Heritage Park Victorian Village

Heritage Park Victorian Village

Heritage Park Victorian Village

Heritage Park Victorian Village

Heritage Park Victorian Village

Heritage Park Victorian Village

Heritage Park Victorian Village

Heritage Park Victorian Village

Heritage Park Victorian Village

Heritage Park Victorian Village

Heritage Park Victorian Village

Mason St. School Old Town

Mason St. School Old Town

Old Town

Old Town

Old Town

Old Town

Old Town - Church of the Immaculate Conception

Old Town – Church of the Immaculate Conception

Old Town

Old Town

Old Town

Old Town

Old Town

Old Town

Old Town

Old Town

Old Town

Old Town

Old Town

Old Town

This entry was posted in California, Running, San Diego and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 7.24 Mile Presidio Park, Old Town and Heritage Park Run – San Diego

  1. Very cool run! Hills and history!

    • usabaker says:

      I like to make my runs interesting for anyone reading my blog and it give me something to look at when I run. its just really hard to snap pictures and run at the same time without letting my heart rate drop.

    • usabaker says:

      I try and find interesting places to run in San Diego; I’ll be doing liberty Station (NTC) once the USS Recruit completes it refurbishment. Last time I run there in the 70’s when I was in Boot camp so it will be kind of fun to retrace my steps

      • Do you know when the USS Recruit will be finished?

      • usabaker says:

        Not a clue when I saw it in the news it said it would take 3 months so I’m thinking soon. I went aboard her in 1976 and back then she was called the USS Neversail when I moved to San Diego in 2001 it would talk about the Neversail and people didn’t know what I was talking about. I didn’t know they renamed her to the. recruit until I passed her one day and notice she look different then when I trained on her

Leave a Reply

