Running naked in the darkness


Last night’s run was 8.18 miles in 1:28 minutes at a 10:47/mile I left work at 4:30PM and saltfarmgot home by 5:00PM after getting in to my running cloths I knew that dark was coming on rapidly. I was hoping that I would make it to and though the chain-link fence lined trail that cuts 1.7 miles through the marsh land (the area outlined in yellow ) before the sun fully set and night had closed in on me. This is not a place one wants to be when its dark. There are people lurking in the dark that given the right motivation would like to take their woes out on you and your money (regardless if you have any). I would need to run four miles before reaching this corridor. I made it just after the sun had dipped below the horizon and decided that regardless I was going to run the gauntlet, I did pass a few individuals who looked as though they had nothing to lose and even though they didn’t seem to act in a way that I should be concerned I still found myself looking over my shoulder every so often to make sure I was not being stalked, at least not as far as I could see in the dark.

I found myself feeling like I was naked in the darkness; not naked in the way of not have cloths on, but naked because I didn’t have a fixed blade knife strapped to my chest or side like I would have worn in the military. A feeling of vulnerability I’ve not felt since my days serving, it still amazes me the feelings I still get even after all these years and the trained alertness I’ve never lost.

This entry was posted in Jogging, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Running naked in the darkness

  1. Kevin says:

    Stay safe out there. Glad my runs aren’t that lonely.

    • usabaker says:

      Hi Kevin, I try not to run at night here but sometimes it unavoidable if I need to get my run in. In that area there tends to be allot of homeless people and some have mental issues. Other then that the only issues is the drivers that pull out of business driveways without looking.

  2. Pingback: Running: The South Bay Salt Works | Usabaker's Blog

Leave a Reply

