I Should Run


I’m sick but I still want to run, I keep looking at the clock and thinking “I should run” is it bad to run sick; I mean I’m not feverish or anything just congested and my eyes feel like they want to fall out of my eye sockets.

I asked my loving wife Janet who’s response was not the YES or NO answer I wanted, rather she said “If you want” … what sort of answer is that LOL.. She followed with I get scared every time you run in the dark because of the idiot drivers; still that doesn’t answer my question. It’s dark and about 57 degrees F so it’s still t-shirt weather; I could run and if my head started pounding (again) walk back home.

I’ve not eaten dinner yet because I’m still thinking about running and reading other runners blogs about running. After reading ULTRAID’s blog No Road to Ultra I feel, like, uaaah… a baby whiner pussy (sorry) just don’t have a better word, oh Lazy Butt that’s the word(s). I think I need to man up.

As I sit here writing (real time) my wife just asked “Are you going to RUN?” when I said I don’t know she yealled “Oh..my GOD, it’s getting late; make up your mind! You are stressing me out!” eh? :/ LOL huh?

“David Nieman, Ph.D., who heads the Human Performance Laboratory at Appalachian State University, and has run 58 marathons and ultras, uses the “neck rule.” Symptoms below the neck (chest cold, bronchial infection, body ache) require time off, while symptoms above the neck (runny nose, stuffiness, sneezing) don’t pose a risk to runners continuing workouts.” Runner World should-you-run-when-youre-sick

Mines above the neck…..

First world problems, ugh… I should run…. Sigh.

[UPDATE] So I ran! 5.37 miles in 56:53 minutes avg pace 10:36/mile with a flashlight (torch) in hand.

This entry was posted in Jogging, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Should Run

  1. pauldburton says:

    Yes you should. Well done for getting out there.

  2. usabaker says:

    Thanks Paul, I felt way better after I ran but my shirt was drenched. I was glad I brought a super bright flashlight with me because the most dangerous part of the run had a ton of traffic.

  3. I had never heard of the neck rule. Very interesting!

Leave a Reply

