What happens when you love to run.


[Run 6.05miles in 59:56 minutes 9:55 avg pace/mile]

Sunday I was busy doing my taxes and the laundry. At 3:00pm I got to the point in my taxes where I needed to have a copy of last year’s return. When I went to print them I printer happy stopped and reported that I was out of black ink. Ah I thought; perfect reason for me to put on my running cloths and run to the Walmart 3 miles from my house.

FullSizeRenderBefore leaving the house I put our dog outside because if I don’t she will pee all over the house. Off I went. The run to the store was uphill for 90% of the run; my legs were on fire and I’ll I kept telling myself is the way back will be easy because it will be 90% downhill. About a half mile from the store it started to drizzle. I got in and out of the store in less than 10 minutes with the new black ink cartage in my pocket and coconut water in hand I started back home.

Within minutes of running the rain started pouring down in sheets, I came down so hard that I could hardly see where I was going. I was drenched and could feel the cardboard packaging of the ink cartage soften in my pocket. I was mostly worried about my cell phone in the carrier on my shoulder. I ran two miles in the rain and when it stopped I just stopped. The sun came out from behind the clouds and a rainbow appeared. I was wet, really wet and I had to pee, really bad. Now I could have pee’d in my shorts at this point and no one would have been the wiser, but I refrained from doing so knowing I only had about a mile left before I would be home.

Home the first thing I did was run across our hardwood floors, my shoes make squeaking sounds all the way to the bathroom; I think I would have made squeaking sound too It I haven’t got to the bathroom fast. With a sigh of utter relief I washed my hands and ‘planned’ to change into something dry. That was not to happen for when I looked out into the backyard I saw our white soft haired wheaten terrier covered in mud.

So I washed the dog, cleaned the bathtub I washed him in; so I didn’t have to face the wrath of a upset wife and then finely took a shower and put on dry cloths. This is what I get for loving to run.

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What happens when you love to run.

  1. runsonsyrup says:

    I love doing “running errands.” Running in the rain can be so liberating!

    • usabaker says:

      I’m not sure what to think about running in the rain, other then its wet. It’s the first time as a civilian that I’ve purposely(?) had to do something in the rain. I guess running in a workout shirt and shorts is better than in boots, BDUs and a full pack ;P

Leave a Reply

