To Add to my Confusion – Before Coffee


“add in 30 to 60 grams of carbohydrates each hour that they are running beyond 75 minutes.”        – Runners World.

I keep seeing all these comments on your blogs about ‘eating a chew’, ‘powering up during a run’ or ‘getting gel’ed up’ all very foreign to me; I feel like a alien visiting the earth for the first time and talking to humans. What the heck are you guys talking about!?

Reading on the internet just add’s to my confusion; I looked up Gatorade Prime Energy Chews holy crap! CORN SYRUP (really??), SUGAR(more really??), ISOMALTULOSE (huh?), WATER, PECTIN, CITRIC ACID, DEXTROSE, SODIUM CITRATE, POTASSIUM CITRATE, SALT, NATURAL FLAVOR, GUM ACACIA, NIACINAMIDE (VITAMIN B3), CALCIUM PANTOTHENATE (VITAMIN B5), GLYCEROL ESTER OF ROSIN, PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE (VITAMIN B6), YELLOW 6; almost everything I don’t want to put into my body!

So what a gather is you need to add carbohydrates so that your body can convert that into sugar energy for what was depilated during a long run? or is it to boost the energy levels? Help recovery of your muscles during a run; perhaps all of the above. But how do you know how much carbs to eat during a run; too much and you would be looking for a place to relieve the pressure build up on you bowels too little and there’s no point.

Doe’s size and weight part of the equations needed to determine intake or is it one size fits all…

I need coffee… while reading this information… sheesh!

This entry was posted in Jogging, Running, trail running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to To Add to my Confusion – Before Coffee

  1. runrodrun says:

    I totally get it 😃

    Honestly play around with your nutrition and see what works for you. Even then there may come a time when even that changes for you because of different training and/or a change in your conditioning.

    I’ve learned that Vector cereal for breakfast works best for me. I used to use Cliff Shot gels but have gotten to the point in the last year or so where I don’t need them. I will drink Gatorade on my harder/longer runs but not for anything flat or relatively easy. Whereas I used to need a sip every 3 Kms regardless of my speed, distance, or the conditions.

    • usabaker says:

      Thanks for the help. I guess I need to learn this stuff before I run my first half. I try and stay away from Sports drinks because most have tons of High Fructose Corn syrup and processed sugar; not that I don’t like those things but my body doesn’t process it well. I’ve instead elected to use coconut water (which will be cool in the Philippines no storage of that) but I don’t think its going to give me much in the way of carbs for a long run.

  2. For a mid race fuel, there’s lots of alternatives to the colourful and highly processed gels and chews. You basically want stuff that’s easy to digest. Honey straws come to mind, as does chocolate squares, raisins or even baby food.

    As to how much, unfortunately whole there are a few loose guidelines, that answer is, as you’ve rightly noted, very individual. How much you need is affected by your mass, pace, whether you are male or female etc. How much your body can actually process whole exercising also varies within a range, based on how much you’ve trained it to.

    That said, for a half marathon, given its relatively “short” (still a respectable distance though!) I reckon your loading of carbs in the lead up to the event will have more of an impact than anything you manage to eat during the race.

    • usabaker says:

      Thanks for the help, I guess it might be a dumb question but how long before a race should you eat?

      • Sorry, the word “whole” in my previous post should have been “while”. Autocorrect fail. If you’re asking about carb loading, for a half marathon I guess it can start 1-2 days before the event. Rather than cramming large meals in, rather you should try to eat normal portions for your usual meals, and snack in between. Try to pick carbs that have a low GI like whole grains, pasta etc. On the day itself, breakfast should be had to allow sufficient time for digestion, usually 2-3hrs before the event at least. As to how much to load, again that can vary from person to person, and is something you will need to practice and figure out yourself. Hope that helps!

      • usabaker says:

        Thanks again, That answered allot of questions that I had. 🙂

Leave a Reply

