Running and iPhone 4 repair


Woke up this morning early to get my run in before it got too hot. I got out of the house at 7:23AM which I could tell was a little late the sun was already starting to warm things up and I was right, by the time I got to the last 3 miles of my run the sun was cooking me. I made it though; ended up doing 7.15 Miles/11.5 Km in 1:15 minutes avg. pace 10:36/mile.

iPhone4After cooling down and a wonderful breakfast my wife made I started my electronics repair. On the schedule today was repair of a laptop to included installation of a new hard drive and replacement of a crack iPhone4 screen.

This would be the first time I would ever disassemble a iPhone; but I’m cheap and can’t see paying someone else to do something I should be able to do myself. Last week I ordered the new iPhone 4 digitizer on eBAY for $17.00US and received it last Wednesday. I can’t believe all the stuff Apple was able to fit in this tiny case! As I was working my wife came over and look at it and said “OMG babe, sorry I didn’t know that it was going to be involved!” I looked at her and said; well now I know why Chinese people at the iPhone factory in China are committing suicide.

I received ‘That Look’ from her that she tends to give me when she’s not happy with what I said. She said “Oh that’s not a nice thing to say!” I just smiled and labored away. I ended up having to take the thing apart twice because I didn’t notice that the new digitizer wasn’t fully seated and it just so happens the screws that lock it in place are only accessible once you remove all of the guts of the phone.

Well, I now know how to disassemble an iPhone 4, not that I ever wanted to know but just the same I do so if you need a screen, button, or anything else repaired let me know.

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Running and iPhone 4 repair

  1. my26pointtwo says:

    Hahaha – We all know ‘That Look’

  2. pauldburton says:

    Indeed. I’ve also done the iPhone repair a few times. It is quite fun, really.

    • usabaker says:

      It was one of the more interesting things I’ve taken apart. Can’t say I would do it for fun though 😉 my eye struggle with the tiny tiny screws

Leave a Reply

