RUN: Long Beach, California 7.32 miles


[7.32miles/ 11.78Km in 1:13:10 minutes at an avg. pace of 9:59/mile]

I was up at Long Beach and decided that I would run along the shore line a place called Shoreline Village; I tourist trap of sort but one that had a nice view of the surrounding bay and the RMS Queen Mary is a retired ocean.

It was sort of an chaotic run because I really had no idea which way to run; last time I was here I was a kid and hardly remember it, so I ending up running back over places I had already run because I didn’t know what I was doing.LongBeachRunMap

I started my run almost a mile out from the shore; running down in a business district. As it made my way to the shore line I would pass the Long Beach Performing Arts Center and then the Long Beach Convention Center.100_0286_Fotor_Collage

Once past the convention center I found a small park called Rainbow Lagoon that had a Gondola floating in it, once I got close I noted it was used for advertising more than anything else; kind of a bummer. I found out later that Rainbow Lagoon was at one time part of the ocean, the area was landfilled to build huge complex of waterfront piers, theaters, swimming pools and an amusement park in the early 1900’s

Rainbow Lagoon North side of Shoreline Dr

Rainbow Lagoon
North side of Shoreline Dr

Shoreline Village at Rainbow Harbor / Rainbow Marina

Shoreline Village at Rainbow Harbor / Rainbow Marina

Crossing a main street just at the part I entered Shoreline Village, it looked much the same way it did in the 70’s when I first visited it with my Dad on one of the many ‘wandering’ journeys we would have. Running down its boardwalk I would eventually work my way out to Rainbow Harbor and Rainbow Marina one of the first things you notice is the Lighthouse sitting predominantly on a hill, I was able to run up the spiral path to the lighthouse and I have to tell you I don’t think this is a real lighthouse! It looks more like something that was put there to add to the ambiance of the area.

The (Fake) Lighthouse taken from Shoreline Village

The (Fake) Lighthouse taken from Shoreline Village

No matter in what direction you ran the one thing always in view was the RMS Queen Mary as I ran and looked at her I couldn’t help but think she looked tired and old; her hull didn’t hold the same black boldness and grandeur it did when I was a kid, it was dirty and faded. He proprietors obviously lacking in the maintenance routines a ship should have. Severing not only as a luxury liner, she served as a troop carrier during world war two. I’ve never been aboard the RMS Queen Mary I should tour her with my wife; yet another thing to add to my bucket list.

RMS Queen Mary is permanently moored as a tourist attraction, hotel, museum, and event facility in Long Beach. From 1983 to 1993

RMS Queen Mary is permanently moored as a tourist attraction, hotel, museum, and event facility in Long Beach. From 1983 to 1993

The Stairs from Hell I hit this lovely thing at between the 6th and 7th mile

The Stairs from Hell I hit this lovely thing at between the 6th and 7th mile

When I stopped to take a quick picture of the RMS Queen Mary I did so by running out on to one of the three or four small piers that protrudes out into the bay. I was greeted by a young boy who was maybe 8 or 9 who without pause started demanding that is get off the pier saying “HAY YOU GET OUT OF HERE!!!!, I Said GET OUT OF HERE!” the mother of this child seemed to have no problem with her child’s lack of respect. So in breaking with my routine of taking pictures fast to avoid dropping my heart rate I just stood there and took in the view, once done I turned; looked at the mother with disdain and continued my run.

Between the 6th and 7th mile I decided to cross the main road on the pedestrian overpass that connects the convention center to Pine Ave Pier/Shoreline Village. To get up to the overpass I would need to run up a large circular staircase; it was looked more intimating than it really was but did have my legs burning by the time I made it up them.

There were many things to see on this run; a Riverboat boat, the Long Beach Naval Memorial, a Farris wheel, a Schooner and other interesting sights. Enjoy the pictures;

Pine Ave Pier - Had to run though here to get to Shoreline Village

Pine Ave Pier – Had to run though here to get to Shoreline Village

Taken from the LightHouse a view Shoreline Village at Rainbow Harbor / Rainbow Marina

Taken from the LightHouse a view Shoreline Village at Rainbow Harbor / Rainbow Marina

Shoreline Village

Shoreline Village

Shoreline Village at Rainbow Harbor / Rainbow Marina

Shoreline Village at Rainbow Harbor / Rainbow Marina

View of Shoreline Village from the Lighthouse

View of Shoreline Village from the Lighthouse

Rainbow Marina

Rainbow Marina

View of the cranes at the Port of Long Beach from Rainbow Harbor

View of the cranes at the Port of Long Beach from Rainbow Harbor

Grand Romance Riverboat is modeled after the Mississippi River’s iconic turn of the century Riverboats. The cruise takes visitors past the historic Queen Mary Cruise Ship with views of the Long Beach City Skyline

Grand Romance Riverboat is modeled after the Mississippi River’s iconic turn of the century Riverboats. The cruise takes visitors past the historic Queen Mary Cruise Ship with views of the Long Beach City Skyline

Grand Romance Riverboat is modeled after the Mississippi River’s iconic turn of the century Riverboats. The cruise takes visitors past the historic Queen Mary Cruise Ship with views of the Long Beach City Skyline

Grand Romance Riverboat is modeled after the Mississippi River’s iconic turn of the century Riverboats. The cruise takes visitors past the historic Queen Mary Cruise Ship with views of the Long Beach City Skyline

The graceful three-masted schooner American Pride was built in 1941, originally as a two-masted "schooner-dragger" and launched as the "Virginia". She spent over forty years commercially fishing the Grand Banks and George's Banks. Her career spanned the New Englandports of New Bedford and Gloucester in Massachusetts, Rockland in Maine.

The graceful three-masted schooner American Pride was built in 1941, originally as a two-masted “schooner-dragger” and launched as the “Virginia”. She spent over forty years commercially fishing the Grand Banks and George’s Banks. Her career spanned the New Englandports of New Bedford and Gloucester in Massachusetts, Rockland in Maine.

Another view of the cranes at Port of Long Beach

Another view of the cranes at Port of Long Beach

Long Beach Naval Memorial

Long Beach Naval Memorial

Navysphere sculpture part of the Long Beach Naval Memorial

Navysphere sculpture part of the Long Beach Naval Memorial

Anchor part of the Long Beach Naval Memorial

Anchor part of the Long Beach Naval Memorial

Ferris Wheel At The Pike - I was told this is solar powered

Ferris Wheel At The Pike – I was told this is solar powered

From a distance I thought I was running toward a Rollercoaster turned out to be art.

From a distance I thought I was running toward a Rollercoaster turned out to be art.

100_0281

View of the Long Beach Skyline from the Lighthouse

View of the Long Beach Skyline from the Lighthouse

This entry was posted in California, Jogging, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to RUN: Long Beach, California 7.32 miles

  1. Stacy says:

    Nice pics of a lovely area, rich with history. My boys would love those cranes 🙂

    • usabaker says:

      I enjoyed running there so much to see. There were a number of sign’s telling the history of the areas I was at but I didn’t have the time to look at them. I will more then likely return with my wife and do the tourist thing 🙂 thanks for viewing!

  2. runrodrun says:

    Hey! Beautiful pics and great travelogue 😃

    Glad to see you’ve recovered from the food poisoning.

    • usabaker says:

      Ahh ran this before I got sick, I’ve just been feeling to out of it to post it until now. I’m going to try and run for the first time since today. Wish me luck

  3. my26pointtwo says:

    Great pictures as always. I hope you are fully recovered now. Soon be back out there!

Leave a Reply

