RUN: 5th Annual ONEHOPE Autism Care and Treatment for Military Families 5K/10K


FINISH1Yesterday my step son and I completed the 5th Annual ONEHOPE ACT Today! for Military Families5k/10k Run/Walk & Family Festival Saturday, March 28, 2015. The run was in support of Autism Care and Treatment for Military Families. Everyone in my house attended this event so it was interesting to watch everyone get up at 4:30AM (Iโ€™m a dictator when I need to be someplace.)

When day broke I was able to see what was going on and to my surprise I ran into friends and people I use to work with at other companies. The made the event even more fun!

I start out running at way too fast of a pace, I think it was because I was caught up in the pace of the crowd at the one mile mark iSmoothRun told me my pace was 06:46/mile and I knew that I need to roll back my pace else I would burn myself out before the end of the race. Mile 2 was 08:17, still too fast mile 3 was 08:51, mile 4 was 09:14, mile 5 was 09:03, at 6 miles I rolled 08:55 and then finished at 07:50.

10kMap-2I ran the 10K and actually did better than it expected. I even got first place in my age group and was given a medal!ย On the surface this sounds like a great achievement but in reality I had a 50/50 chance of winning because there was only one other person in my age group running the race ;P

I came in 54th of 175 runners office timing was;
Gun 00:54:03 Chip 00:53:58 Pace 00:08:42 Sex Place 41

This was my step sons first 5K; he did better than I had expected coming in 1st place in his age division 112th of 387 runners;
Gun 00:33:00 Chip 0032:58 Pace 00:10:38 Sex Place 67.

act_Fotor_Collage

Friends I found doing the race; Linda and Chris. Props to Linda who raised $1,415 for the event, 2nd highest amount!!!!

Friends I found doing the race; Linda and Chris. Props to Linda who raised $1,415 for the event, 2nd highest amount!!!!

My wife and son meeting me at the finish line

My wife and son meeting me at the finish line

Finish Line Photo

Finish Line Photo

Jon and Big Mike (Mark Christopher Lawrence) from the TV Show CHUCK

Jon and Big Mike (Mark Christopher Lawrence) from the TV Show CHUCK

At the Starting Line - Ready to RUN!

At the Starting Line – Ready to RUN!

This entry was posted in Running, San Diego and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to RUN: 5th Annual ONEHOPE Autism Care and Treatment for Military Families 5K/10K

  1. my26pointtwo says:

    Exceptional effort! 1st is 1st! ๐Ÿ˜Š
    This makes me want to go out and do a race, it has been a long time. All that training has obviously been doing you a lot of good!

    • usabaker says:

      It was a fun race the first time I ran 10k on a relatively flat course so I think all the hill running I did helped. I think next time I’ll use the metrome to set my starting pace. Of course I think I’ll go for a half next time. Thanks for the kudos!

  2. WOO HOO! Good for you, family!

    • usabaker says:

      You should have come out to the race I think you and your son would have enjoyed it. There was allot of activities for the kids that were free like face painting, jumpers, games that everyone wins prizes. There were more then 40 booths most supporting Autism or nutrition. it was a great family day! next year I’m going to do a fund raising campaign and see if I can get my company to sponsor.

  3. runrodrun says:

    What a fantastic day for you and your family!!!

    Big congrats!

    And great pics too ๐Ÿ˜ƒ. Look at your form at the finish! Just brilliant ๐Ÿ‘

    • usabaker says:

      Thanks Rod… there is more to that finish pic than you can really see. If you look hard you will see a person hidden by my body. This young lady passed me twice on the course, she stopped twice for water. at about the last 200 meters I broke into a full sprint when I past her I think I might have startled here because she gave me a real dirty look when I past her and once we got off the line. LOL My wife was shooting into the Sun so the picture is kind of blurry.

    • usabaker says:

      BTW: The arms up in the air thing is a cue I took from you! LOL

  4. pauldburton says:

    Excellent work. As above ‘a win is a win’. Take it and save the feeling for when you have a crappy race or a hard work out. Refer back to this post when you have a tough day and it’ll help you remember why you do it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Pingback: Just a short 4, but I ran! and Autism Care and Treatment Today! | Running After 50

Leave a Reply

