Running injured: Tijuana River National Estuarine Research Reserve


As I sit here blogging I am in pain. Woke up early this morning excited to go on a picture run at the Tijuana River National Estuarine Research Reserve. Got dressed and was at the east end of the estuary by 7:00am.

The east end of the estuary borders the Naval Outlying Landing Field Imperial Beach which is a United States Navy facility for helicopters. It was still early so not of the helicopters were out doing drills or taking off.

Naval Outlying Landing Field

Naval Outlying Landing Field

I haven’t been to this area for quite some time and thought since it is Spring that it would be the perfect time to take all of you on a picture tour because it’s this time of year when all you can see is miles and miles yellow and white wild daisy’s. I was disappointed to find very few wild flowers growing not even 1 percent of what has been there in years prior.

Wild Daisy's - These look sad :(

Wild Daisy’s – These look sad 😦

I did find out that most of the paths have been improved the dirt paths were groomed with decomposed granite. I was a beautiful morning and I was out happy to be running. My intention was to run 8 miles today but at about .75 miles into the run I turned to look behind me and felt my lower back go out; sharp pain shot through me and brought me to a halt. Once I was done wincing and tried to run I got about 50 yards and had to limp until I could run another 50 yards, then limp a bit and run again, this repeated its self over and over until I did 2.34miles/3.76Km in 23:19 minutes with a avg pace of 9:58/mile not being able to do anyone I limped back to my car defeated. I did manage some pictures so please enjoy my limited run. I will go back and run the full estuary once my back has recovered.

Groomed trails the fence is the Naval Outlying Landing Field

Groomed trails the fence is the Naval Outlying Landing Field

Naval Outlying Landing Field

Naval Outlying Landing Field

100_0295

Mexico in the Back Ground

100_0292 100_0297 100_0296

Cotton Tail Rabbit one of the local residents

Cotton Tail Rabbit one of the local residents

Pods' exciting huh?

Pods’ exciting huh?

White Haron

White Heron

Sand Piper I think.. very good chance I am wrong.

Sand Piper I think.. very good chance I am wrong.

Look like a duck, swims like a duck; must be a duck

Look like a duck, swims like a duck; must be a duck

Wild Daisy

Wild Daisy

100_0317100_0316

Wild Daisy

Wild Daisy

100_0309100_0308

The City of Imperial Beach in the background

The City of Imperial Beach in the background

Mexico in the Back Ground

 

100_0303100_0301

We call it Jumping Cactus; but I always get corrected by the botanists.

We call it Jumping Cactus; but I always get corrected by the botanists.

100_0299

This entry was posted in Jogging, Running, San Diego and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Running injured: Tijuana River National Estuarine Research Reserve

  1. runrodrun says:

    Really sorry about your back Bill. Speedy recovery my friend!

  2. Ouch! You did get a bunch of good photos, however! Get better!

  3. Oh, Bill! Hope your back feels better soon… It must be awful as a runner to not be able to!

  4. pauldburton says:

    Get well quickly. Nice to see some spring time photos!

Leave a Reply

