Philippines Running: Barangay Run


I’ve not posted in awhile because of drinking the water. Yes, the one thing we are told all of our life not to do when traveling. I was warned by my nephew, but still drank it because the waiter assured me the Ice Tea used filtered water and ice. I should have listened; the lesson here is that your host, in this case my nephew, knows better than you.

And while I was less mobile and had plenty of time to write about my last run, as the only trips I was taking were to the restroom, I didn’t have the energy or will write.  With that crap behind me, – literally – I’ve decided to back off on running until my body is re-hydrated completely so no running today.

What is today? Oh yes Friday… On Wednesday I woke up late; the sun had been out for an hour already so I decided that I would run only three miles because if I were to run further the sun would take its toll on me; running in this heat and humidity as turned out to be challenging.

Morning burning of refuge

Morning burning of refuge

I would also learn that running one half hour AFTER sunrise will subject you to smoke from all the refuge that gets burned in the morning. The local’s burn everything here. In addition, most meals are still cooked over wood fires here so that adds to the smoke. This is life in the Philippines and I’m adjusting to its ways – rapidly; and I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

My last run I titled my Barangay run, Village run in English. This run would take me though the various streets that makes up the Barangay of Disamparados, Calape, Bohol. These are the streets less traveled buy visitors. The only sections I’m not including pictures of is the downtown and city center areas and I already posted pictures of those areas in prior blog entries.

My total run was 3.39miles/5.45Km in 33:49 minutes at an avg pace of 9:59/mile this run I carried no water which was a huge mistake; when I sat on the wooden bench outside of my cousins house I left a wet spot; there was no a dry spots on any of my clothing. It was 78F / 86% humidity and I sweat like a waterfall after a storm.

Hold on; I hear my son yelling ‘LOCKED IN THE BATHROOM!, LOCKED IN THE BATHROOM’ LOL his auntie didn’t know he was in the bathroom relieving himself and locked the door from the outside. I know you might think this odd; but the bathrooms here are not your typical North American restroom designs.

So here is the pictures from Wednesdays run!  Enjoy! Bill

Panorama view of the river

Panorama view of the river

Opening that leads to the Bay of Bohol

Opening that leads to the Bay of Bohol

Another view of one of the fisherman homes along the shore of our Barangay

Another view of one of the fisherman homes along the shore of our Barangay

CalapeRun-2-0011213 CalapeRun-2-0011212

View of one of the fisherman homes along the shore of our Barangay

View of one of the fisherman homes along the shore of our Barangay

This is the canal that runs to the bay of Bohol. The boats (bancas) are those of the fisherman from our Barangay

This is the canal that runs to the bay of Bohol. The boats (bancas) are those of the fisherman from our Barangay

A Sari-Sari Store. You will find these in villages as well as city's across the Philippines.

A Sari-Sari Store. You will find these in villages as well as city’s across the Philippines.

Papaya trees like this one are found nearly everywhere in the provinces.

Papaya trees like this one are found nearly everywhere in the provinces.

Calape Cementary

Calape Cementary

Calape Cementary

Calape Cementary

A Bull blocking my running path. He won, I went around.

A Bull blocking my running path. He won, I went around.

Calape-Run-2-0028215 Calape-Run-2-0028214

This is Calape High School from the back.

This is Calape High School from the back.

Calape-Run-2-0028210 Calape-Run-2-0028209 Calape-Run-2-0028208 Calape-Run-2-0028204 Calape-Run-2-0028203

Morning burning of refuge

Morning burning of refuge

Calape-Run-2-0028201 CalapeRun-2-0011267 CalapeRun-2-0011264 CalapeRun-2-0011263 CalapeRun-2-0011262 CalapeRun-2-0011261

Tri-Cycles a common mode of cheap transportation.

Tri-Cycles a common mode of cheap transportation.

CalapeRun-2-0011250 CalapeRun-2-0011249 CalapeRun-2-0011248

Bamboo scaffolding used to make repairs to the church from the 7.2 earthquake

Bamboo scaffolding used to make repairs to the church from the 7.2 earthquake

Bamboo scaffolding used to make repairs to the church from the 7.2 earthquake

Bamboo scaffolding used to make repairs to the church from the 7.2 earthquake

Older house of mixed construction materials Cirica 1960

Older house of mixed construction materials Cirica 1960

CalapeRun-2-0011242 CalapeRun-2-0011241 CalapeRun-2-0011239 CalapeRun-2-0011238 CalapeRun-2-0011237 CalapeRun-2-0011235 CalapeRun-2-0011234 CalapeRun-2-0011233 CalapeRun-2-0011232 CalapeRun-2-0011231 CalapeRun-2-0011230

City Hall

City Hall

CalapeRun-2-0011227

Police Station

Police Station

This is the community center stadium. It has still not been rebuilt since the 7.2 earthquake that hit 2 years ago

This is the community center stadium. It has still not been rebuilt since the 7.2 earthquake that hit 2 years ago

 

This entry was posted in Running, travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Philippines Running: Barangay Run

  1. Rechito says:

    you captured the rural Philippines and the typical small town, well done!

    • usabaker says:

      Thank you for the complement, but capturing the sprit, beauty, culture and people can only be accomplished using all one senses. The province is a complex series of contradictions that can only be experanced in person and with an open heart.

    • usabaker says:

      Please excuse my spelling, bad eyes and small cell phone

  2. Jane Likes to Run says:

    Such cool pictures. It’s so interesting and unique to see and hear how other people live. Certainly looks different than what I see out my window. Glad that you are feeling at least a bit better. That’s pretty miserable!

  3. Thanks for sharing a glimpse of yet another part of the world. And glad you’re feeling better!

  4. Thanks for the photos. I miss home.

  5. Wow, Beautiful! My favorite picture was the church being restored and the bamboo scaffolding. such great photos. I just looked at your archive and it goes back to 2001! Wow, how have you been so consistent as a blogger?

    • usabaker says:

      I was blogging when it was called Journaling. Back then LiveJournal was the best service, prior to the WEB I was on USENET. I’ve only recently gotten back into constant blogging I lose my Muse for a few years and post only occasionally, I like to say, ‘life got in the way’ but really I just lost any desire to share. Running is my New Muse and I’m in a good group of bloggers that support me which makes you happy and want to continue blogging.you will find that if you build a good network you will be motivated to write. The world needs bloggers because it’s nice to be able to related and experience to and with others then the prefabricated crap on TV and in newspapers. Just my two cents!!!! Thanks for reading my blog and peering in to my life

  6. runrodrun says:

    Glad you’re feeling better Bill!

    Great pics. Thanks for sharing 😃 it’s amazing to be able to see a world so different than my own. Would love to run there one day!

    • usabaker says:

      Hi Rod, actually I’ve been silent the past week because I ended up have a relapse and worse getting dehydrated so bad I was stuck in bed I’m still not fully recovered but can get around a little. Just trying to make it though this ‘vacation ‘ at this point. I’m ready to go home, which is odd because the Philippines is like home to me. I think it’s the fact I want to rest in my own bed and not on a mat in a house or hotel.

Leave a Reply

