Ouch???


I don’t know ouch… but I may have injured myself on my 10 mile run last Wednesday; in the inside of my leg below the calf is sore and felt like it burns when I rubbed it and lower front of my tiba? looking at a picture in google the muscles are the soleus and extensor halucis? anyhow, was uncomfortable Wednesday after I cooled down from my run. I used Tiger Balm and a compression wrap. Was a little better Thursday more Tiger Balm and compression at work but slept without compression that night.

A little sore still but not really noticeable, meaning I forget it was bothering me. I decided not to run today; worried a little about it.

I was out of town on the 4th of July weekend visiting family in Las Vegas; Did I mention that my cousin is Joey Galon a famous Pagent Coach and Clothing Designer? http://runway4life.com/about.html

Anyhow, I had planned to do a picture run down the Las Vegas Strip for you guys but…. the night before my planed run I ended up having to carry my 8 year old 80 pound son on my back 1.7 miles from Cesar’s Palace to Circus Circus at 12:00 midnight – It was still 90 deg /32 C. I was too burnt to get up at 4:00am to run sorry guys. On the bright side we went to Hoover Dam at it’s was ONLY 120 in the shade.

IMG_4828IMG_4832

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ouch???

  1. runrodrun says:

    I’m wondering if it’s your shin splints acting up. Are you doing that toe tapping exercise?

    • usabaker says:

      This doesn’t feel like shin splints I think what caused it was running without stretching my leg muscles; I noticed that my calves were really tight that day but ignored them. I’m sitting at the movie theater right now with my wife and son waiting for Minions to start and it seems okay might try and run on it this afternoon but I’m still a little worried about it. Maybe I should go get it
      Massaged hmmmmm

  2. my26pointtwo says:

    Too much too soon possibly. Just ease off and ice for a few days. My first thought was shin splints too, but whatever it is, just giving it a little break cant hurt and might prevent a more serious set back?

    • usabaker says:

      Yeah, that’s what scares me. last time it took me a long time to get past my injury because I kept trying to run too soon. On the other hand I’ve notice if ism idle for even a week its hard to get back to where I was 😦 I think its a age thing.

  3. my26pointtwo says:

    It is all such a fine balance, but I am confident you can get it right. You are already making great strides. Maybe start with a shorter run just to keep your legs moving or even include some other form of low impact cardio to keep your lungs ticking over whilst your legs (tendons, ligaments etc) catch up? You can just as easily do intervals on a bike or rower without any of the crash bang wallop.

Leave a Reply

