In Darkness Looms the Runner


Of late my runs, the kind of foot not of bowel, have had to take place at that magic hour of sunset, when shadows pull across ones path eventually bleeding into darkness. Running in partial or complete darkness adds to the excitement of the run for in that darkness; danger looms.

The danger is not that of people whose evil desire is to harm or rob, nor is it the numerous pot holes in roads not repaired by taxes paid. No, the danger is in the species of animals mostly walked by human owners. You know the kind; the dog walker, yes those humans who watch closely as their dogs secrete their fecal matter on to the paths we run, never bothering to remove it unless they see someone watching and even then some care little.

You know you hit it, for your foot gives way with a little slide and you sing; oh shit!

Yes …… shit literally.

This entry was posted in Running, trail running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In Darkness Looms the Runner

  1. chasingdownhealthy says:

    A poetic piece about dog poop. Never would I have imagined. 🙂 The path I run is typically spotted with goose poop. I love the geese, so I forgive, but I hate stepping in it in my precious over-priced trainers. I would just die if I stepped in dog poo. My peeve with the dogs? When they don’t keep them on a tight enough leash and they lunge at you as you run by. That happens to me at least once a week.

    • usabaker says:

      What runner doesn’t love being tripped by a dog leash that’s 10 foot long? I love it especially when the loving dog licks the sweat off my legs. The only thing that could make it better is slipping on poo like a banana peel lol

  2. Hahaha, seriously the dogs in my neighborhood scare me. Out of no where they run up to the fence barking like they want to eat me.

Leave a Reply

