Running on Windows 10


I’m posting yesterdays run because my pink notepad was in the process of download Windows 10, downloading and installing FOR HOURS! Anyhow its loaded and I’m using it now; it’s so nice to have Windows 8 gone…. Now just need how to get rid of the annoying group panels in the start menu. Windows 8 is the reason I almost bought a Cromebook; just couldn’t beat the price of this HP Stream.

Yesterdays run was miserable! I think its one of my slowest times this year. Ran 6.07 miles in 1:10:38 minutes at an average pace of 11:38. While I was suiting up and putting on my socks I was already perspiring  and I was still in the house. Right from the get go the sun and humidity was beating me up. By mile 3 mile I was struggling my shirt was already drenched with sweat and all I wanted to do is walk. I yelled out loud; ‘I’m not f#$%ing quitting!’ and dug down deep.

Its funny how my brain works; I don’t think I’ve ever been a true civilian so I’ve no clue how a normal person thinks. But when running or even on a long hike I notice military cadences start running though my brain; sometimes I make up new ones.  Mile four I hit the hills, Ugh! Just kept look at the peak, almost there, almost there, almost there, 1-2-3-4 climbing just a little more, this hills not going to kick my ass, I’ll run until I damn collapse. Bring it on down now, 1-2-3-4, 1  –  2, 3-4!.

Down the other side finely in some shade the coolness although short lives was just the little bit of relief I needed. 5 miles and a could see the tips of the “Y” building where my son is taking his swim lessons, it was up hill all the way but it was just a small incline almost like running flat. By now I was sweat so bad it was running into my eyes the salt making my blink my eyes. I was so happy to hit the 6 mile mark and kept running the short distance to the front door. As much as I hate running at night; that’s exactly what I’ll be doing tonight as the humidity is just as high, if not higher today.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Running on Windows 10

  1. my26pointtwo says:

    Well done for getting through it. You are putting in some great distances. I also have the challenge of installing windows 10 over the next couple of weeks. I am hoping it will turn out to be an improvement but you never know with Microsoft.

    • usabaker says:

      I’m happy with win 10 so far but then anything is better than win 8 so I guess that’s not saying much. I’m not upgrading my win7 machine until I work with 10 more 🙂

  2. We just installed Windows 10, and I quite like it!

  3. chasingdownhealthy says:

    Great job pushing through, it’s SO hard to run in the heat. The great experts of the interwebs insist that you run 30-90 seconds per mile slower in the heat, so to me your numbers look fantastic. But then again, I can’t maintain an 11:38 pace for more than a mile in the A/C :).

    • usabaker says:

      Yeah I read that too! It’s not the heat that was getting as much as the humidity sheesh I sweat like crazy! You numbers will go up I’m sure 🙂 took awhile for mine to get where they are now; just keep on runnin!

  4. pauldburton says:

    It all good. Slower runs in the summer heat will supercharge your autumnal runs!

Leave a Reply

