GEL Shots! Missing my 16 miler


IMG_4933

I was supposed to get up this morning at 4:30AM and start my 16 mile run. I wanted to run before the heat and humidity started. But before I realized it yesterday it was 1:00AM before my wife and I wandered off to bed.

Needless to say getting up a 4:30 was on longer on the table.

I stopped off at Dick’s Sporting goods yesterday after work and picked up an assortment of GEL shots, most CLIFF but also GU because they had Mandarin Orange and Lemon Sublime and it sounds reads in my mind as delicious refreshing. No, I was not thinking of using them all on my 16 mile run, just overtime when I run 13 miles or more.

Honestly, I don’t know how to use these things I sort of guess when I should take them the last time I downed my first GEL at 7miles which is about an 1:15 hours into my run or 75 minutes which is what ‘Runners World’ wrote “add in 30 to 60 grams of carbohydrates each hour that they are running beyond 75 minutes.”  that means at least two GEL packs since these provide only 24 Carbs each (I guess) which is pretty much what it says on the packet; “One packet before activity, one to two packet every hour during the activity”.

I don’t understand, and wont do the one packet before the activity because that doesn’t make sense; You should have ate well the night before and had snack or breakfast before running.

I do know that the one GEL pack I have had was, in the words of my son, yucky it was like downing something the consistency sap from a Maple tree in winter.  I don’t remember what flavor it was but I was way too sweet for my taste and it made me ultra thirsty.

T’day I’ll be making Breakfast Bites that I found on Celia Fitzgerald’s BLOG all sorts of yummy she wrote “sweet little treats are a great energy boost and are packed full of goodness” I’ll make these into bars that I can use before and after runs. Thank you Celia!

So the new plan is I’ll do a 4 miles this afternoon and get up for the 16 mile run tomorrow at 4am.

This entry was posted in Jogging, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to GEL Shots! Missing my 16 miler

  1. runrodrun says:

    I’m just learning as well and have been encouraged to consume one gel every 8 kilometres (5 miles). Am trying this for the first time tomorrow and will do this for any run of 25+ Km’s (15 miles).

Leave a Reply

