RUN 13.21 miles: Ohhhh the Humidty!


13.21 Miles (21.25 Km) in 2:28:41 Hours with and average pace of 11:15/mile

I woke up late this morning I don’t know if I woke up and turned off the alarm on my phone (likely) or if the alarm just didn’t go off (unlikely.) What ever the case I work up late I sun was already on it way up when I looked out the window of my bedroom.

It’s been a HOT and HUMID week here in Sun Diego and I contemplated forgoing my run today but true to my nature I jumped out f bed and got ready for the run I committed to. It was 6:33 AM only 68deg F (20 C) but the humidity was 93% when I started my run. It wasn’t bad for the first two miles but after that my brain was playing the song Hot In Herre over and over like a skipping record;

“Hot In, Hot In, It’s getting hot in here, so hot, so take off all your clothes
I am, getting so hot, I wanna take my clothes off”

13.2_sun8-30-2015Hot was an under statement; sun was beating me down like a Manny Pacquiao opponent. I kept running though, and  for a while the sun hid behind some clouds but it was short lived. My pace suffered as a result of the heat but I was able to meet my objective of 13.1 and funny enough my body did pretty well for running two long runs on consecutive days! No major issues so I think I’m getting close to being able to up my distance to 20 miles.

This entry was posted in Jogging, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to RUN 13.21 miles: Ohhhh the Humidty!

  1. pauldburton says:

    I would suggest some smaller increments before hitting 20. 15 the 18, perhaps. Although if you feel strong on the eighteen, just add in a couple of extras to round it out.

  2. Uhhhhh, my run yesterday was SO hot but I ran half of what you did. I couldn’t imagine going for another 6+ miles. Good job for just getting it done!

  3. It’s so hard running in the humidity. Good for you for sticking with it!

Leave a Reply

