Long Short Run?


Used to be anything less the 3 miles was a short run, then anything less that 4. I told my wife last night that I was just going on the short 8 miles run. She laughed and said just 8 SHORT miles?

I didn’t even occur to me that my definition of short changed!  It made me wonder what the runner definition of a short run really is.  How long is a short run?

I also tend to ware different styles of socks depending on the distance I’m running (yes, I do) for distances less than 7 I use Nike Dry-fit and anything over that I use Injinji toe socks because it reduces the chaffing or rawness between my toes, but I guess that has to do more with environmental and foot sweat production.

One of those questions that make you go Hmmmmmmm….

My 8mile/12.8 Km (nothing to do with Eminem) went really well. did it in 1:22:28 with and avg pace of 10:14/Miles. I ran my hill route this time because I noticed I have been avoiding that route of late. Hope, if you are reading this in the morning, you have a wonderful day! if not enjoy your evening!.. Till next time Happy Trails!

This entry was posted in Jogging, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Long Short Run?

  1. 8 miles is definitely long for me! I’ve never run that much at one go. You give me so much to shoot for.

    • usabaker says:

      If you can run 3 you can run 5, if you can run 5 you can run 8. That’s how I drove myself. If you make your brain think its not that much further it seems it isn’t. One day I just noticed that after 2 miles I just sort of fell into auto mode and as long as I kept a steady pace I was good. Just don’t try too much at one time. 🙂 If I can do it anyone can..

  2. chasingdownhealthy says:

    Yes! That’s a great run. 🙂 Definitely a long run for me, so you’re kicking butt. 2-3 miles is a “short” run for me. Great time! I’ve been experimenting with socks lately and have yet to try to the Injinji but they kind of freak me out. 😉

  3. Kevin says:

    It is amazing how those distances can just stretch longer and longer every season. Keep it up.

  4. pauldburton says:

    I was having a very similar conversation at work the other day. Short for me is typically 5-8 on week days. But at weekends short is 13.

  5. 8 miles? The only “short” for me if I run that distance is the running apparel I’m wearing.

Leave a Reply

