Broken and Sick – I want to run


I haven’t run since Monday and its really bugging me. I’m broken, my lower back went out on me Tuesday and I’ve been nursing it back to health; Then I came down with a cold and my throat been dry and tickley ; is that even a word?

I’ve been so tempted to run in this condition but know if I do I’ll just make things worse. My back seems better this morning but my throat is still bothering me. I might try a slow 3 mile run today just to see what happens. I’m going though running withdrawals and I’m felling irritable. Anyone else feel like this when they can run?

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Broken and Sick – I want to run

  1. chasingdownhealthy says:

    I understand you 100%. I’m more worried for you about the back than the cold because let’s face it, we’ve all pushed through a cold before. But be gentle with that back. Rest today to invest in running down the road, ya know? You know. 🙂 Just be safe.

    • usabaker says:

      I’ve nursed my back for four days now and I seem to be moving okay today don’t even need my back brace. My throat and feeling tired is what’s really bugging me. But feeling tired, normally, is because I haven’t been running. ugh… so hard to decided what to do.

  2. runrodrun says:

    A runner who can’t run is a very very sad sort to be sure. We get it when we’re hurt, injured, or tapering. And we have a way of letting the rest of the world just how much we need to run (ie just how miserable we are when we don’t run 😁).

    Rest up and get well. I’d say wait out the weekend to be safe. But then I have no idea if I would follow that advice either!

    • usabaker says:

      Yeah I have issues with following my own advice as well. I don’t know if I could hold out though the weekend, feel so antsy . I want to get in a 15 miler but at this point would just be happy to run 6 or 8 maybe 9 but if I run 9 then 15 is only 6 more

  3. Jane Likes to Run says:

    I definitely get cranky from running withdrawal. Hopefully you can shake this off. It might be good to go for an easy walk/run and see how it goes. I swear that it sometimes makes you beat a cold faster.

    • usabaker says:

      I think you are right about running helping with my cold; I’ve run before with a cold and feel better after and seem to feel like it helps me get over it faster. Its only because of my throat that I’m a slight bit apprehensive but in reality I don’t think it will stop me. If I know myself I’ll just sip more water to keep my throat wet during the run… I don’t think I can walk though; tired that before and always seem to end up running LOL

  4. frenchc1955 says:

    I am not a runner, but I do understand not being able to doing something you want to because of illness or injury. And it is very annoying! I do suggest you go easy though so you do not make it worse.

  5. therfpscribe says:

    My sympathies on the illness, and yes I do get cranky when I want to run and cannot. In those moments, I do something for running that is not running itself, be it some strength training, reviewing my training log, or browsing through local running events to sign up for.
    I’m with the others on taking care of that back at the very least before going back to running. Get well soon!

    • usabaker says:

      I’m glad it not just me that gets cranky when i can’t run makes me feel like I’m a little normal anyhow. The whole time my back was hurting I was trying to figure out what kind of exercise I could do; but because it was/is my lower back there didn’t seem to be any thing even sitting was uncomfortable.

  6. Bill, you need my magic essential oils to help you feel better with some of these ailments!

  7. I think the tickley throat thing is going around–some folks at my work have it.

  8. pauldburton says:

    Be careful with the back; it may be a sign of increasing mileage too quickly. Do a few weeks of shorter (<10 mile) runs and see if it eases up.

    • usabaker says:

      I’ve had this back problem even before running. I’ve had it go out less since I’ve been running I guess because i’m more toned. I try to keep good posture and form when I run to avoid back issues, but you are right I have to be careful with my back on the long runs.

Leave a Reply

