XX Reasons Not To Run A Marathon


Seem’s even the editors of news and magazine companies are now jumping on the negativity band wagon; or is this something i’m just now noticing?. Have you guys seen the artificial that’s been traversing the the news sites?

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/10/29/why-not-shouldnt-run-marathon_n_4171186.html

What a bunch of hoppy cock; If its not bad enough I have to listen the the sedentary people at work and party’s tell me reasons I shouldn’t run and how running long distance is a waste of time; now I have to see a flood of articles  from yet more desk jockeys spewing regurgitated negativity.

Oh and WTF does this have to do with any thing “If you don’t feel like considering a black toenail a “rite of passage”, it might be time for a new hobby.” That’s like says if you sit at your desk for too long writing garbage like this and as a result have butt sores, perhaps its time to get out and run.

Oh well, I knew I shouldn’t have read it……..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to XX Reasons Not To Run A Marathon

  1. Stacy says:

    Tell us how you really feel. 🙂 Butt sores…ha!

  2. pauldburton says:

    I’ve never lost s toenail to running yet. Get the right shoes and regularly trim them and there should be no issues. Running long distances (half marathon +) may be detrimental as it over exerts your body but, like most things in life, if you train properly it should be fine.

  3. therfpscribe says:

    I clicked on the link and read through the article. Actually, these are true to a certain extent, some more applicable than others (I don’t know what Gu tastes like, I’ve never had to eat it on any of my runs; I don’t ask people to donate each time I lace up etc). I acknowledge all these to be true, and I go ahead and run anyway because I don’t need to justify doing something I enjoy.

    I laugh off when these “reasons not to run” are articles on the web, written by people who need to write something about, but I get more annoyed when it becomes personal. My future mother-in-law, for instance, started off declaring I’d NEVER finish a marathon, and a few marathons and several mountain trails later, she’s declared I’ve developed a running addiction, am going to damage my body, have something to prove to the world, etc etc. These are very personal attacks, and I throw it all back in her face by running yet another race with the love and support of her darling son HA! =D

    • usabaker says:

      Yes, I get the same responses from people. ; the only one that matters is my doctor who supports my running addiction. I can’t even describe what GU is like eating; fruity sweet with the constancy of cold maple syrup maybe?

      • therfpscribe says:

        Someone once told me gels were like jam, but a lot more expensive! 😁 Personally, I like dried fruit when I run, especially raisins and apricots but some people react poorly to the fibre and the fructose.

  4. runrodrun says:

    The author lost me with the first paragraph! She comes off very negative right off the bat.

    Personally I feel if a person doesn’t want to run a marathon, that’s fine. But you don’t have to justify it. And you certainly don’t need to try to get preachy about it.

    I might be proud of my running but I’vd never preached 26 reasons why someone SHOULD run a marathon.

    • usabaker says:

      26 Reasons why you should run a Marathon…. LOL Never though of that! love it.. She allot of snide remarks. She was obviously never a runner else I don’t think it would have been so pointed. Well off for a run to practice for that Marathon she recommend I shouldn’t run — I’m not even close to 40 miles per week.

  5. I’m with you. Most of the reasons are really lame, except maybe 17 and 18, but that’s a risk I’m happy to take.

    The rest are all pretty much like saying you shouldn’t swim because you might get wet.

    I don’t feel I have anything to prove. I simply run long distances just because I like to.

    • usabaker says:

      I thought allot about this during my runs. I it occurred to me that its not like runners are always running Marathons. She makes it out that runner run one every weekend or something. For 17 and 18 – if she talking all out go for it race people then shes sort of wasting her time. If she talking to people like me well shes got it wrong because people like me probably will end up walking allot after say 18 miles or so; which means the stress on the heart is not going to be that high. One thing she is right about; people should check with their doctors. My doctor ordered a stress test when I started running and then when I started hitting distances just to be safe. But that’s a common sense thing when you get in your 50’s

Leave a Reply

