Post DAV 5K Run


DAV_RedcarpetI’m a sucker for anything that benefits our Veterans otherwise I wouldn’t pay to run 5K at this point since I’m training for my run’s in January and running more then 5K every day. Veterans, Military and Kids; my weak spots and I always get suckered into some sort of benefit or fund raiser.

My GPS failed off the line and didn’t start working until I was about 3/4 mile into the run so I didn’t trust pace numbers I was getting off it; it was jumping between 18 and 7 minutes per mile. It may have been a blessing in disguise because I think I just ran the best 5K ever! I’m good with my time ..

dav5ktime

The race didn’t get started until after 9:00AM and the sun was already up and hot. Just standing there you were sweating if you were not shaded. I fail to understand why they start these races so late! but, I enjoyed the run and the company 🙂

There were no finishers medals at this event only top male and top female Military and Civilian were given medals which is fine with me I’d rather the money go to the cause. If you were a veteran though you got this blue bag and inside it I found a DAV 5K Challenge Coin which is kind of cool, I’m adding it to my collection of command coins.

Now off to finish my week with a 7 mile run! See you soon!

DAV_Med1DAV_Shirt

This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Post DAV 5K Run

  1. my26pointtwo says:

    Great time!!! the higher mileage week seems to have paid off handsomely.

    • usabaker says:

      It’s strange I was thinking that perhaps the run distance was shorter then 5K I’ve never been able to get those times. I thought my speed took a hit because I’ve been running distance. Not quite sure how I pulled off an 8

      • my26pointtwo says:

        My experience is go further to go faster. The higher weekly mileage I have done the quicker I have got. I am sure there is a point of diminishing returns where you have to throw some speed work in to get even quicker but do that too early and you are just asking for injury. And how fast do you really need to be for an almighty challenge like yours!

      • usabaker says:

        I’m definitely not looking for speed, i’m just looking to survive this crazy run! If I can just finish all four races I will be happy.

      • my26pointtwo says:

        Also just keep stretching the distance at a comfortable pace. My mistake is always trying to improve how far and how fast I am going at the same time again a recipe for disaster. Pick your speed and stick with it e.g even if last weeks 8 miler felt good at 10min mile, the following week don’t try and do 9 miles at 9:30min mile. It will be the races where you can open up and reap the rewards.

      • usabaker says:

        Yup, I try not to push it even though the temptation is ALWAYS there. I have figgured out what my bodys pace is based on the distance i’m running and monitor my pace on my Pebble to try and keep the pace constant. Seems to be working the 20 miler went much easier than I anticipated the biggest problem I had was keeping myself entertained for 4 hours. My big challenges now seem to be Hydration and Nutrition! I’m having a hard time figuring out things like how much water should I be consuming at my pace in one hour. You would never think this could be such a big issue to figure out. Everything I read seems to conflict or be gears toward people who are able to run 7 or 8 minute miles or 2 and 3 hour Marathons. BTW: Where have you been? You haven’t been posting much…

  2. runrodrun says:

    Congrats Bill!

    How is your Disney training going?

    • usabaker says:

      Going well I think, Paul got on me about my weekly mileage so I’ve been running every day except Sunday’s did 41 miles this week. How have you been? Getting cold in Canada yet?

      • runrodrun says:

        41 miles is stellar! The weather just plummeted but I bought myself a hoody that really works at keeping the wind out and the body warmth in. Very grateful for that!!

        I’m well thanks. Slowly building back my mileage. No races on the horizon for me though so I can take my time on the build up 😃

      • usabaker says:

        What do you wear to keep your ears from hurting in the cold. Our weather here is not even close to as cold as Toronto but my ears hurt when it cold outside.

  3. runrodrun says:

    Try rubbing Vaseline on your ears. It acts as a shield against the elements 😃

Leave a Reply

