Miracle Tree: Malunggay (Moringa)


Was out in my backyard this morning and realized that my Malunggay (Moringa) tree was really tall, so I grabbed a tape measure and it measured over 16 feet in length.

 

Malunggay_5286

Malunggay / Moringa Flowers and Leaves

My wife has been ‘suggesting’ that I top this tree but thus far I’ve avoided doing so. You see I struggled trying to grow these trees for sometime and now that I have some, well quite a few, I’m hesitant to do anything to them that risks killing them. But at this point I don’t think I have much choice as this particular tree is too tall to harvest the leaves and flowers.

For those of you that don’t know what the Malunggay (Moringa) tree is, it’s a tree who’s leaves, bark, seed pods, seeds and flowers provide 40 types of anti-oxidants, 90 Nutrients and 18 Amino Acids;

“A serving of fresh leaves contains 7 times the amount of vitamin C in the equivalent amount of oranges, 4 times the vitamin A of carrots, 4 times the calcium of milk, 3 times the potassium of bananas and twice the protein of yogurt. It also contains measurable amounts of vitamins B1, B2 and B3, chromium, copper, iron, magnesium, manganese, phosphorous and zinc. In addition, moringa has all essential amino acids, which are the building blocks for our cells.

Dried leaves pack the vitamins even denser, with 25 times more iron than spinach; 4 times more protein than eggs; 10 times more vitamin A than carrots; 17 times more calcium than milk; and 15 times more potassium than bananas.”

There is an interesting video on YouTube here < Moringa Documentary> if you’ve an interest and plenty of info if you just Google Moringa. It would be stupid to regurgitate all of it on my blog.

Anyhow, now I’m sitting here trying to figure out the best way decapitate my largest Malunggay tree without killing it.

Ref: http://moringatrees.org/

This entry was posted in health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Miracle Tree: Malunggay (Moringa)

  1. Brittany says:

    Oh wow, what a nutrient powerhouse!

Leave a Reply

