Running: Sometimes I wonder whats wrong with me


One of the most difficult things I’ve had to deal with since my last race is “what’s next?” I hated the idea of loosing that edge I developed though training. Well, it wouldn’t take long to find out what’s next because once again I’ve bent to the ‘suggestion’ of yet another race with, so far two others in the company I work for. Not surprisingly both are from the same group I ran the 48.6 mile Dopey Challenge with.

Sitting at my desk an email popped up on the corporate system the asked if anyone was interested in joining the SEAL Sprint Triathlon in March.  After much thought on how this may be beyond my abilities I sent an email and said; okay… I’m ALL IN.

At the very instant I click on that Outlook send button I questioned my sanity, but it was too late, I committed. When I got home I forgot to register and as a result incurred a $25.00 penalty for missing the discounted early registration and reduced my bank account by $130.00; I still don’t quite get why I pay to torture myself, but here we go.

I’ve yet to not only find my wetsuit, but try it on. I’ve no clue if it still fits, since my body is substantially modified by the consumption of various food stuffs, since it’s been so long since I last wore it.

I’m not so worried about the running part I’ve got that; or even by the bike part even though I’ve only a crappy old inexpensive mountain bike. I’m worried about the 500 meter swim! I can’t remember that last time I actually swam 500 meters. So that freaks me out a little.

Roll forward a few days.  One of my other friends sends me a Facebook message;

“Good stuff. Why not sign up for the Old West 30k in Anza Borrego in March? “

March and March…. So I looked at the Old West Trails Website and I see there is a 30K and 50K run. Hmmm  I think , why run only 18.6 miles when I could run 31 mile and eclipse my Marathon distance! Here’s the catch though;

  1. I’ll have to complete the SEAL Sprint Triathlon on March 20th and then 10 days later the Old West run.
  2. The Old West run is in the desert and I’ve no idea what the trail is going to be like. There is a huge difference from running on the pavement and running on a trail.

Not sure what I’m going to do, but after tomorrow I should have a better idea. On the OLD WEST TRAILS 50K ULTRA & 30K FUN RUN  Facebook page it shows they are having a “Preview” Run that is a 16 mile (8 out and back)  tomorrow.  So I’ll be leaving to night and camping overnight to attend the run.

Don’t know what I’m going to do or if it a little too much too soon…

This entry was posted in Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Running: Sometimes I wonder whats wrong with me

  1. Love the spontaneity! Wish I could pop out and go for a camp and a run at the drop of a hat. Have fun, hope it gives you some direction!

    • usabaker says:

      On our way right now but my lower bad started hurting after loading the van – got tiger balm on it and hoping it won’t be a problem tomorrow. That one of the nice things about California is all year it’s mostly good weather. Storm is hitting Sunday so I’m good

  2. Jane Likes to Run says:

    Ehhhh, I always go with, if you’re thinking about it constantly, then just go for it! You could always run the 50K slow. Good luck!

  3. 50in50marathonquest says:

    Best of luck…I don’t have any trail running experience, I know heat just puts a hammer on me so not sure how I would react, but you get to train and prep in the warmer climate so it might be an easier adjustment. Hope the preview run goes well. Love the triathlon idea…did a few 3-4 years ago, it was the open water swimming that is my problem, would like to do them again one day in between running in every state…cheers!

    • usabaker says:

      Heat wasn’t so bad most of the run was in the 60’s . I’ve already signed up for the tri and like you I’m going to have problems with the water. That’s a great goal to do a marathon in every state:) wish I had the time and money to do that it so cool

  4. I’d say go for it, but take the first race a bit easy so you have some fuel left in your tank!

  5. @chasing42 says:

    The tri sounds like a fantastic new challenge! Those 50K trails look gorgeous too- you’ll just have to find another 50K after the tri to tackle 😉 Either way, definitely get out and spend some time on the trails- such a wonderful running experience!

  6. Brittany says:

    I support it!! DO IT ALLLL.

Leave a Reply

