25 Mile Week – I’m back!


Feel so good to be running ‘semiregular’ again. I was able to get in 25.73 miles / 41.41 k this week. My boss will be back at work Monday so getting running time during lunch and getting home at a decent hour will allow me more running time, I’m so glad not to me ‘acting’ manager anymore.

Yesterdays 13 mile run started out well; I left the house a 7’ish and headed out on the route that I used during my training for the Disney run. I think I ran that route only because I didn’t have to think about where I was running by doing so. I’ll switch it up next weekend and chose some place interesting run, maybe a picture run. Anyhow, at the 8.23 mile point in the run my iPhone died; I guess I didn’t fully seat that stupidly designed Apple “Lightning” cable; what idiot thought this was a good design? I was able to estimate my total run though because I remember what the mileage was at my turn around point, 6.66 miles; who could forget that! and since it was an out and back just doubling it should be at least as accurate as a hand grenade.

Wednesday: 6.02 miles / 9.69k;  Friday 6.39 miles / 10.3k;   Saturday 13.32 miles / 21.44k

I’m looking forward to running next week.. I’ve not signed up to do any races except for that Triathlon in March. I may be volunteering to help-out at the OLD WEST TRAILS 50K ULTRA & 30K FUN RUN in Anza Borrego Desert that will take place on March 19, 2016; but haven’t tied down my schedule yet.

Hope everyone has had a great running week!

This entry was posted in Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 25 Mile Week – I’m back!

  1. my26pointtwo says:

    What a great week. Some good quality runs in there, I hope next week goes well for you too. I have never volunteered at a race before but I can imagine it will be very rewarding supporting your fellow runners . I have a great admiration for the selfless souls who make races around the world (not literally) happen each weekend. In fact I may have to see if I can get involved with supporting our local 10k this year.

  2. 50in50marathonquest says:

    nice week of running…solid.

  3. Hey brother..Thanks for following I appreciate it.. Good to be back and rocking 🙂
    https://www.facebook.com/runningadventures
    http://woundedwarriortoironman.com/

  4. I still recall back in basic military training that I was the only one in my platoon who could lob a hand grenade to within five metres of a target out at 30 metres. Probably not the most accurate of devices! Aside from that, good running and keep it up!

    • usabaker says:

      Aren’t they sort of a let down the first time you throw them; not quite the bang you expected. But, I thought in this case it was a good analogy since my estimated running distance would fell somewhere in the range of a hand grenades effective blast radius.

      • They are indeed! We did our first hand grenade live firing right after bangalore torpedoes. It seemed like a firecracker in comparison.

      • usabaker says:

        Wow bangalores? Never got to play with those. Plenty of C4 though.

      • That would have been just as fun, if not more! Unfortunately for me, C4 wasn’t something I was going to have to use at all in my vocation, so my whole company only got four blocks to try, one per platoon. So it was just four lucky guys who got to detonate the charges while the rest of us observed from a very safe distance.

      • usabaker says:

        Even a small amount ‘blast’ right? We detonated 5 pounds of the stuff once and even behind the berm we could feel the blast. I was in a Construction Battalion so lots of Bang bang and Boom boom. I was a Construction Mechanic to most of my exposure was only in training and like you watching from a distance while the ‘stubs’ got to blow stuff up.

      • Yes I remember it felt like being punched in the chest from the inside, and that was over 200m away! I was in signals, so most of my exposure to explosives was during my basic military training and then the section leaders course. After that it was all radios and wires.. Boring stuff really!

  5. janerunswild says:

    Great week of runs!! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

