Busy Busy Run Run


Wow LONG week, last week. Just haven’t had time By the end of the day I’ve been too tired to post. Work, family and building a walk-in closet in the master bedroom has been eating up most of my time. Nonetheless i was able to get my runs in this week as only missed my 25 mile goal by 0.31 mile. Yay!

RunStatFeb

I’m going to slow down a bit this week I can feel my body asking for a break, not so much because of the running but more because of all the construction work I’ve been doing. Framing, hauling wood up and down the stairs, roasting in the addict and the like have taken its toll on this old man.

I’ve not had a chance to talk about all the NEW running stuff I got in the mail! The Brooks Ravenna’s I have are getting near end of life, they have 285 miles on them and my I Saucony Xodus Trail Shoes never really fit well and with the Ragnar coming up I decided to get a new pair. I ordered the Brooks Ravenna 6 from 6pm for road running and the of Saucony Xodus 5.0 trail shoes from Jackrabbit to just add to my happy, happy, joy, joy  my loving wife bought me a brand new Saucony visor to replace the one I recently lost.  But last night I tried to get into my old wetsuit that I wanted to ware for the Triathlon on March 20 and it didn’t fit so well, I think it shrunk ;P so looks like I’m in the market for a new one.

This entry was posted in Jogging, Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Busy Busy Run Run

  1. sweettttttttttt 🙂

  2. 50in50marathonquest says:

    Near gear, niiiiice…awesome, nothing like new shoes – look forward to the reviews. Funny how those wetsuits shrink when they get wet, eh?!! Cheers!

    • usabaker says:

      LOL yeah the dang hot water in the Philippines did it. Didn’t think about reviewing these shoes since they are older models; same shoes I run in now really. Maybe I should though.. hmmm

  3. pauldburton says:

    I’m on the brink of new shoes too. Is it strange this this is exciting?

    • usabaker says:

      I get attached to my shoes so when its time to retire them I always feel odd in the new shoe. I have one pair I run in at work and another at home. My old trail shoes only have 33 trail miles on them but my feet swell too much on the trail and I loose nails every time I use them so I bout a larger shoe.

  4. dadandrun says:

    love a bit of new gear, are they good runners?

    • usabaker says:

      I would have to say the the Brooks Ravenna series are my favorite street stability shoe ever; prior to the Brooks I ran in Saucony GRID and Oasis Series. The Brooks just land better and seem to last longer; I also like that the heal is slightly tapered up in the back so it doesn’t drag when I come out of my mid-foot (a habit i’m trying to break) . The Saucony Xodus series training shoe seems to work well for me; I like the aggressive tread and knobs on the sides I’ve run in them in a 14.3 mile trail run in the Mountians a 16 mile desert run and a 5 mile insane trail run that had an elevation gain of 1020 feet per mile going up the grip was outstanding, I was able to fly coming down because it grabbed the ground with no problem; I didn’t slip once! I also have a pair of Solomon XRMission’s but my first 14 mile run in them hurt so bad I never wore them again, they are still resting under my bed.

      • dadandrun says:

        Thanks I’ll check them out. I bought some Nike in a 2for1 which I knew was too good to be true – just can’t stand up to rougher terrain and my heavy heel strikes!

      • usabaker says:

        Heel hits are tough on most shoes; I wouldn’t use Saucony’s road shoes if that’s an issue. Because my knees hurt allot from landing on my heels, I trained myself to land mid-foot so I don’t have allot of data on shoe heal strikes. I can tell you my brooks lasted longer then my sauconys and the heels show much less ware; at 285 my brooks still have lots of tread on the heels.

        For my Trail Runners, I can’t really say how well the Saucony’s hold up. I’ve not don’t enough trail running distance to judge them. I do like the side support and aggressive tread.

  5. Gareth says:

    Damn shrinking wetsuits, don’t get them near water is the answer PS My OCD is kicking in – on your mileage spreadsheet it says wend not weds!:p

    • usabaker says:

      it DOES! I didn’t even notice, was supposed to be Wedn. guess my dyslexia got me… I’ll fix that LOL thanks.

      Was sort of good my wetsuit shrunk it was for surfing, I didn’t know that the triathlon wetsuits are different until I went to the Surf shop and told the guy what I need a new wetsuit for; he thought it was odd my wetsuit shrunk too LOL

  6. my26pointtwo says:

    Great miles again! Nothing better than new gear. 🙂

  7. Gotta love the new toy feeling! Enjoy!

  8. Oh, and don’t discount the manual labour. Probably some good core strengthening from that!

Leave a Reply

