You Can Fly, You Can Fly, You Can Fly!


There is nothing that you can say about the company I work for that is not positive. They provide the best health insurance, the best culture, the best management team and the most employee centric company I’ve seen or worked for in all of my time in San Diego.  I will tell you that I’m a tough critic when it comes to employers. I have worked in some of the best companies which sets the ‘show me’ bar incredibly high, therefore when I say I work for the ‘BEST’ company that is saying more than you can know.

But it’s not just that the company has great benefits or even the best culture; it’s because they genuinely ‘care’ about their employees and honestly that make’s all the difference. I was driving home from a event at iFly that the president hosted for some of the company employees and I realized that I don’t ever want to think about having to leave this company, even the offer of more money wouldn’t make me want to leave. I’ve only felt this way about one other company in my work history and I was with them for 23 years and was the last person out the door when it closed. Its hard enough to find a company like this, but even harder when the company’s primary work force is contracted out to other entities.  I’m in total awe. Even the company mantra is great “Do Great Things”

After work a number of us from the company, I think the count was something like 22 or 23 were treated to a team building event hosted by the president at a indoor skydiving facility called iFly. Skydiving has been on my bucket list for quite sometime so this opportunity gave me the chance to find up what it will feel like without having to jump out of a plane first. I’ve got to tell you it was FAN-FRIGGIN-TASTIC!

Because there were so many of us we were broken into two groups. Each group was move to a class room and went though orientation by one of the iFly instructor which consisted of watching a short movie on safety, form, and hand signals. We all then took turns lay on a ‘Y’ shaped bench were we were shown how to position our bodies for flight.  It was then back to the main room where we were fitted for jumpsuits, ear plugs, goggles and helmets.

In time we were herded in the the skydiving waiting chamber and waited for each of our turns to fly.  Each person would get two 60 second turns in the flight chamber. I don’t know about everyone else but the anticipation of entering the flight chamber the first time was on godly, more so as you watched each of you co-workers floating, swooshing around and sometimes having to push away from the walls. The first flight was amazing! and you really leaned allot. I don’t think we flew more then 4 or 5 feet off the wire floor.

The second flight was after each person had rotated though and you could tell at everyone was much more confident the second time around and there was less tension and more laughter in the waiting chamber.

Second time everyone flew better then the first and we were allow more freedom of movement; then in the last 40 seconds the instructor held on to you and took you a good 20 feet or more up into the chamber; you ascended and descended a total of three times.

It was exhilarating and addicting! What an adventure! Here I am in the flight chamber

Here is a video of my wife who did way better then me. Yes, she does work for the same company 🙂

The company  staff, executives, and our president never cease to amaze and impress me with the things they come up with to do and sponsor for their employees.

Janet doing her High Fly, how she got two videos and I only got one i’ll never know. cool.

_179686_179688

This entry was posted in Sky Diving, Team Buliding, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You Can Fly, You Can Fly, You Can Fly!

  1. Heyyt brother…if you ever want to guest blog….I would love it! Or if you know anyone that would like to! hit me up!

  2. my26pointtwo says:

    Great fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

