Running Juan


My running hasn’t gone as planned at all this week, as a matter of fact it looks like I’ll only have yesterdays run unless I can sneak in a run tomorrow sometime as family business has come up I need to attend to.

Yesterday I started our on my normal 6 mile lunch time run and at the last minute decided that I would change my route and run to a section of the city called Old Town. I thought since I’m not going to get all my running in this week that I would do a few hills.

You know how when you haven’t been someplace in a long time, you kind of forget some of the major details of it? Well this was one of those times.

I ran from work north for about .30 miles where I got to the trolley and train station; I elected to run down the stairs rather then the access ramps just for the shear joy and added exertion, I was full of energy this afternoon and was really enjoying my run. The stairs leads to a tunnel that goes under the train and trolley tracks at the end of the tunnel I elected to run up the stairs – feel the burn OohRah! well sort of anyhow, legs were just a little annoyed with me.

From here I crossed the street and took a direct path into Old Town; yet another missed photo run opportunity but never fear Richard’s Here! if you want to see pictures of Old Town check our Richards Blog Cool San Diego Sights  he does way more justice to Old Town then I could ever do. Ahh but back on task…

Crossing though Old Town placed me firmly on Wallace and Juan St…. JUAN ST! (Mile 1) turning south on to JUAN ST. I looked up and my legs yelled to my brain WHAT-THE-HECK-ARE-YOU-THINKING! of course like the rest of my body my brain ignored the pleading of my legs “please don’t go up that!” and happy directed my legs and body forward.

The ascent started; at about .20 mile in to the hill my brain started agreeing with my legs that perhaps this was not the greatest of idea. But mind, body and soul had committed and up..uP..UP we whet. Unrelenting was our determination the conqueror this hill, crushing ever though of lets rests, lets walk, let just turn around and go back to work!image1 (3)

I don’t know exactly how far or long that hill was but I can tell you that it was a killer and even after the steepest part I was still running up just not on a grade as insane as Juan St.  The rest of the run was beautiful! Passing old craftsman style homes in upscale neighborhoods. Most of the time I could see out to the ocean.

So beautiful was the view that at about 3.30 miles I was not paying attention and slipped off a soft shoulder of the street and went tumbling to the ground; seemed like slow motion as I yelled, ouch as my ankle rolled and shit just before hitting the pavement. Luckily for me, my body broke my fall and I was able to get back up and continue my run.

I made it back to my office huffed, puffed and tired but had a feeling of accomplishment and happy. Total run 5.13 miles 10.38/mile avg pace total run time 54:37  not quite the 6 miles planed but I think the hills made up for it.

oldtwon

 

This entry was posted in Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Running Juan

  1. Glad you are ok after the fall!

  2. 50in50marathonquest says:

    You did pause your watch when you fell right?! Kidding of course…fond memories of old town when my wife and I visited many years ago, fabulous restaurants. Great run on that brutal hill, not sure I would have tried that myself!

    • usabaker says:

      Lol one of the first things I did was look at my watch. Then brushed myself off. So you know the hill? My legs are still sore from it. I’m going to do it again, yeah I never learn. Look forward to your race report nice 20plus on your last run!

  3. 50in50marathonquest says:

    No, I don’t know the hill brother – one look at your elevation profile told me all I needed to know 🙂

  4. Solid hill bro////great work hooah

  5. Brittany says:

    AHHH, I hope you’re ankle is ok. That altitude climb is beastly!

Leave a Reply

