5 to Half


I didn’t post on Sunday or Monday, I was beat down tired. Janet and I drove up to San Francisco Friday after work; my grand uncle passed and we went to see him off home. It was good to see and be with family.

Five days before the Heartbreak Ridge Half-Marathon at Marine Corps Base Camp Pendleton, California. I just took a look at the course map and I’m not sure what hill we will be running up. The race however is an out and back and I’m going to have to deal with a 300ft and then a 500ft rise in elevation, looks like its going to be one of the harder half marathon I’ve run, I feel ready though.hcrs_heartbreak_coursemap1

I’m not running this week, letting my body rest up for this race so the only thing I have going on is swim lessons on Wednesday.

The only thing I hate about races is not having anyone at the finish line. I don’t know why its been bothering me these last few races because I’ve always been a sort of solitary person.

hcrs_heartbreak_coursemap

This entry was posted in family, Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 5 to Half

  1. I totally get it! For many of us, finishing a race is very important and we want our family and friends to be at the finish line waiting for us.

    • usabaker says:

      I think if know one ever came I wouldn’t have known the difference. But after my Marathon having my family waiting for me felt great. So now crossing the finish line seem a bit lonely.

  2. Micah says:

    why don’t you have anyone at the finish line? good luck with the race.

    • usabaker says:

      Since most runs are 13 miles or less. There isn’t much interested in getting up that early in the morning.

      I’m finished and back before people are up most times. That and I don’t have any friends here that run.

      It’s hard to find people to run with. Most people my age think that I’m crazy for running and gladly provide me tons of reason I shouldn’t be running. The ones that do run don’t run over 5K and I don’t run less than 8K most days.

  3. runrodrun says:

    There is something immensely satisfying about having loved ones at the finish. I completely hear you.

  4. runrodrun says:

    I’m sorry about your grand uncle 😔

Leave a Reply

