Running Penance


Juanst1

I’ve been bad I’ve not run until today so to pay for my transgression I did a short 4 mile run at lunchtime but, I ran my Juan St. route which you all know has starry stairs, lovey hills, pot hole roads and scenic views (the reward for running up Juan St.) I paid dearly for my lack of running this past two weeks, I felt it in my legs while running and after I was done. I’m back and will be building up mileage again, but its not like I’ve been idle.

My swim coach has been providing much need training and tons of reps. Yesterdays session wore me down. By the end of the training session I had swam over 1000 meters and my whole body knew it.  Coach Tara at the end said that I was done I didn’t need her help anymore. She said I knew everything I needed to be successful and just practice.

With a shocked look on my face I said NO WAY! we are not done yet and handed her payment for three more lessons. I’m not comfortable flying solo yet although I appreciate her honesty and ethics. There are so many people who would take advantage and keep taking money.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Running Penance

  1. Gareth says:

    Its good to hear of someone putting ethics before money! Sounds like youll definitely have a grip on your next tri

    • usabaker says:

      Yeah Its rare to find people like that nowdays. More practice and I’ll go for a Tri. I need to build swimming stamina. If I swim it will come ;P

  2. GP Cox says:

    I still exercise, but not to your extent. More power to you!!! [I’ll ease my mind by telling myself I’m older than you – no excuse, I know, but it makes me feel better – haha]

  3. Really nice of her! When’s your next race?

    • usabaker says:

      Not sure when I will do my next Ironman Triathlon after i’ve got the swimming down 100%; I’ve been thinking though instead of doing the Sprint with the 500meter I might do the Ironman Olympic that’s the 1000 meter swim. I think I’ll know more in about 4 months.

  4. my26pointtwo says:

    Back in the game. Mixing up your training really is going to pay dividends.

Leave a Reply

