This YOUR day!


I started to post a memory from when I was 16 but its was a story that, like most of my childhood story’s is sad, I felt wasn’t appropriate today. Today I want to celebrate the achievements of my friend and fellow blogger my26pointtwo. Having run his first London Marathon today was wonderful achievement. I won’t give you the details of his run for that is is honor. But like Howard Cosell I will give you MY play by play of watching him run; well sort of watch him run

The race stated at 10:00am but because I’m in California the race wouldn’t start until 2:00am PST. Having downloaded the Virgin Money London Marathon App and added his Bib number I was ready to watch his progress.  My alarm rang me awake at 1:55AM. I tried to focus in the darkness half blinded by the blaring white light of my iPhone display trying to start the app.

It took a number of times to finely get the app to work, the servers must have been overwhelmed it kept telling me there was an error and to try again later. By the time the app connected the race had started. I watched intently as the little dot with the ‘LS’ on the screen did nothing. So I Zoomed in closer, there IT MOVED! woohoo! It moved in bursts; not exactly real time but what did I expect, its data is coming from across the pond. I grabbed some pants and brushed my teeth while staring that the little dot zipping along the route line then pausing, zipping and pausing; As you can see this was most exciting.

Down the stairs I made coffee while I watched the screen and once I had my first sip I logged into my computer to watch the little man icon run on a bit larger screen. I found the app updated much faster then the web-version so I stayed with the iPhone app while I tried every avenue to find an live video feed – without luck –

As the splits posted I was happy to see his excellent split time, then split times.. He worked hard for this and I actually cheered as my phone displayed FINISH

Congratulations LS This is your day! enjoy every part of it you deserve it.

“The ultimate victory in competition is derived from the inner satisfaction of knowing that you have done your best and that you have gotten the most out of what you had to give.”
                                                                                                                                      Howard Cosell

PS: Yes I stole “This is your day” from the movie but its appropriate.

FullSizeRenderLondonMara

This entry was posted in Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to This YOUR day!

  1. runrodrun says:

    What a wonderful tribute!!!

    Nicely done Mr Cossell. Nicely done 😃

  2. my26pointtwo says:

    It is amazing quite how much running brings people so far apart so close together. I am honoured that you used your personal time to support me. Life feels very good today.

  3. That’s a great Cosell quote!

Leave a Reply

