Ooh!…. I Want to DO THAT!


Its funny how our running takes us from you’re doing that?  SUPER CRAZY COOL! – to – Ooh! I want to do that!

For me that moment was after my Disneyworld Marathon Dopey Challenge (5K, 10K, Half and Full Marathon in 4 days) I felt under achieved/accomplished for a number of reasons that I won’t go into ALL the reasons, for the number is vast. But, I felt the need to run a Marathon again because I can’t stand this feeling of not meeting my own expectations; it was not a time thing it was a performance thing, I just didn’t feel like it was that big of a deal; that I wasn’t able to test my abilities to their fullest; it was fun and that just doesn’t seem right.

Since my running re-boot I’ve built up to the point where running 16, 18 or even 20 mile long runs doesn’t really faze me much at all; I run try and run 6 miles minimum every other day during the week days at lunch or when getting home from work and i’m mostly successful, or was till I hit this slump these past to two weeks, and my long run on a Friday or Saturday. Sunday is always my rest day – because well, it’s Sunday; the Sabbath. But back to Ooh! I want to do that!

SO here I go I’m announcing my goal and dream to the world. Last February I ran across the movie called UNBREAKABLE: Western States 100 that was MY  Ooh, I want to do that! moment. I had already been thinking about doing Ultra Trail Run rather then a Marathon, just because I already did a marathon and it didn’t seem far enough. But this movie put me over the top. I want to do the Western States 100  and that fact scares the crap out of me. But i’m also a realest I know 100 mile trail run is just something you jump into so I’ll start out slow, a 50K is my first goal because its more then a Marathon but less than a 50 miler. Because I know absolutely nothing about Ultra trail, support teams, drop bags and all the other stuff I’m starting my journey to Ultra today by looking for a nutritionist and an ultra coach.  I’m already 57 years old but all I have to do is believe and even at my age my goal is attainable..

What’s your Ooh! I want to do that!?

 

 

This entry was posted in Running, trail running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Ooh!…. I Want to DO THAT!

  1. Gareth says:

    We have the same mindset it seems. Although I havent even run a marathon yet I have eyes on longer distances but know itll be a slow road to get there. If youre looking at western states you need to look into the qualifying first its notoriously hard to get into with a lottery system, you could be waiting many years. If youre interested in ultra running and WS give the trailrunner nation podcasts a listen, theyre fun n interesting and a few focus on WS

    • usabaker says:

      I think I’ve listened to almost every trail runner nation pod cast over the part two months. It a great pod cast! 2000 entries 400 chosen. I know it’s going to be a long road there 🙂 but it’s the end goal 🙃

      • Gareth says:

        Gotta have a goal! Looking forwards to your updates. Tell you what, you qualify and get an entry and ill crew for you, would love to go there just for tue experience

      • usabaker says:

        That would be awesome, what would be more awesome is if you qualified too and we ran together OR if you get picked an I don’t i’ll crew and pace for you!

      • Gareth says:

        Deal though I think qualifying for WS is a long way off. But goals are goals. Longest jouney starts with a single step

      • usabaker says:

        Yup it’s the end goal but a long while before I get there

  2. 50in50marathonquest says:

    I want to watch that movie…think that’s about as close as I’ll get to that one, but best of luck my friend!

  3. Although it’s on the other side of the planet, I actually would love to do Western States someday. Its one of my long term goals and certainly a bucket list item. For now though, the pipeline is at least 5 years long, considering the time needed to build up to it, and then to try and qualify.

    • usabaker says:

      Yep, its will take a while to get there. But when I see 70 yearold’s running it and making it in before the 30 hours limit I’m inspired and know I can do it too. It’s a goal and I figure if I can do 50 I can do 100 🙂 I’ll Crew and Pace for you, Like I said I would for Gareth, if you get in. I actually think you are ready to try!

Leave a Reply

