MAN-O-MAN What did I just do!


I feel so anxious right now YIKES what did I just do! I just signed up for my first Ultra Trail Run and now I’m freaking out LOL. Well, I said I was jumping in both feet on my “Journey to ULTRA” and here I go.

So on June 11, 2016 I will be running in the 27th annual Shadow of the Giants 50K “31 magic miles of scenic trails through the Sierra National Forest.”

“Scenic historic trails through the Sierra National Forest. The 50k run takes you past 3000 year old Giant Sequoias in the famous Nelder Grove.  Elevation is 5,000 – 6,500 ft. Time limit for 50k: 8 hours”

ELEVATION PROFILE Shadow50K Jun2-2012

I’m sitting here laughing at myself like a mad man and my loving wife I just looking at me and says’ “Well, that’s what you wanted” I’m wondering if 50K was a little ambitious, I think I’m okay; I feel ready…

Oh Crap I think I need to go for a run to shake this off.

This entry was posted in Running, trail running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to MAN-O-MAN What did I just do!

  1. Gareth says:

    Haha good on ya! Get into training mode!

    • usabaker says:

      Yeah, no kidding ! I’m such a wack job…. What the hell was I thinking. I sat there and looked at the submit button for like 15 minutes and said screw it and clicked. Then a feeling of OH CRAP came over me. Running Ragnar Utah Trail next week too.

      • Gareth says:

        No better motiovation than signing on the dotted line. Better that than wonder what if…. You know deep down you have the mental strength for this … and I reckon physical too. Go for it!

  2. Where is the “love” button? Liking this post is not enough! I’m so excited for you! 🙂

  3. 50in50marathonquest says:

    Awesome brother, love it…now go run. And, no new freakin shoes on race day 😉

  4. Brittany says:

    You brave man! You’ve got this!!

  5. Micah says:

    good luck! i love your attitude on taking challenges.

    • usabaker says:

      Micah thank you ! sometimes I wonder about my sanity when I make these decisions LOL. But, it does get me closer to my goal of 100 mile run called the Western States 100

      • Micah says:

        that is the reason why i keep on coming back to this blog! you are after my own heart. a 100 mile run, holy crap. and here i am complaining about 3 kms.

      • usabaker says:

        THanks for hanging with me though this! I really don’t know what it is about me and running. We will have to do something like the Plunge when I get back; you can watch me pee my pants.

      • Micah says:

        it is inspiring. running is no joke. i particularly suck at it. which is why i am fascinated by your activities. i will gladly suffer endless hours of muay thai training but give up on 30 minutes of running. sometimes i wonder if i run wrong? yes, the plunge would be great but i doubt they will finish in time.

      • usabaker says:

        The secret to running is not speed or distance its how you run. Learning how to run is the key and once you find that sweet spot in posture, foot placement and pace it magic; the rest is just the mind. The one thing helpped me being able to carry on a conversation while running, if you can do that you have found the pace you start running at. Overtime the pace will get stronger and faster 🙂 I think its called “conversational pace”.

        There is always Cliff Diving in Malapascua, Cebu

      • Micah says:

        the pace i have right, the posture seems to be the problem. obviously yours is brilliant, and mine is a pain. oh well, you can do the running on my behalf for now, i guess. there is cliff diving in malapascua? damn, i missed that.

  6. Haha, I’m speechless! You are brave – I salute you! That aside the course sounds beautiful. I’m sure you’ll find it a heap of fun. Looks like I’d better put that post I promised you together soonish!

    • usabaker says:

      Crazy – Brave I don’t know but I’ve wanted to no just do more then a Marathon but really find out what I got and if a 100 is a realistic goal for me. Its been keeping me up at night so any advice would be welcome! It looks like this course is not to technical though so it maybe a good thing for my first time.

Leave a Reply

